The beauty of Single Tasking

He did each single thing as if he did nothing else.

—- Charles Dickens

After I decide back to work, my therapist is so much concerned about my productivity. Am I able to finish the work at hand in such a short time? Will I go back to the old habit and never get out?

I can’t convince him, neither can I promise anything. Sure, I am determined to pull myself out, the only question remained is how.

Then, I design a new approach to everything in my life. Got a traditional calendar, write down what I want to accomplish roughly at the beginning of each day, then concentrate on finishing  them one after one.

In a word, it all comes down to the basic focusing method— Single Tasking. It sounds intuitive, the linear way of doing things should be the most basic for human brain, but why does it sound so bizarre for us ?

I guess it is partly due to the huge demands of modern life. We are living in a super competitive world. For everyone, the list of what we suppose to accomplish is much longer than previous generation. We need to follow the latest news to stay updated, we need to workout, dress up , we need to deal with many emails and instant message, and also we have much complex social life to maintain. The only thing never changes is that we still only have 24 hours a day.

Thus, the popularity of multi-tasking thus begins. We are getting used to listen to others while checking emails, running while listen to music, squeeze every break time to check emails,etc. What is result ?

the less efficient, more stressed life. Maybe, we are greedy or overestimated our ability.

Instead, I decide to do less. I decide to say NO to lots of things in life. For the things I choose to do, I will guarantee the full attention.

Am I missing lots of opportunities while focusing on only one thing? Maybe, but I feel only in this way, I can get my life back.

Here is the book I recently read and recommend for others

Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less

The One Thing: The Surprisingly Simple Truth Behind Extraordinary Results

Leave a comment